Second Dusk til Dawn spot

Sport news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Sport news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Have your say

New King’s Lynn Mountain Bike Club members were put to the test in the infamous Dusk til Dawn 2014 race which had rain, mud, cold, fog, frost and sleep deprivation.

Three teams of four entered the team male category. Alex Carpenter, Sean Rayment, John Carpenter and Russell Rout were the best placed, finishing in a superb second place.

Of the other KLMTB teams, Sam Smithee, Joe Smithee, James Murphy and Wayne Timmins were fourth, and Steve Munden, Dan Collins, Neil Allen and Stephen Hayes fifth.

Taking part in their first D2D were Steve Twell, Paul Quantrill and Richard “Scratch” Hallett, who finished a credible 16th. Mike Cubitt, Jonny Sayer and Elliot Lawrance were 13th.

In the Ladies team, Emily Quantrill, Anita Rose and Lorraine Collins got first prize. In the pairs, both riding for the first time in this event, Lee Nowak and James Vaughan were sixth. In the solo 12 hours, Dave Penny was fifth and Jason Hunter 53rd out of 85.

Many other club members competed in various teams: Rob Smithers (Exheat Industrial), Kevin Beales (Old Enough to Know Better), Adrian Murray, Richard Cook (Laidback Allstars), Matt Buckler, Richard Pepper, Sam Pepper (The Blackbears), Jimmy Hupton (Iceni Velo Norwich/Duff Morgan/Street Life Cycles).

Mud Sweat and Gears Round 7,

Shouldham Warren

There were 27 club riders entered in various categories.

Results: under 9, part of the British Cycling GoRide coaching scheme, Millie Harris 3rd; Ella Matthews girls 2nd (both on debut); ladies open race Emily Quantrill 1st, Susan Matthews 3rd; men’s open James Murphy 2nd; Russell Rout, Grand Veterans, 2nd.

Other club riders, some racing for the first time: Steve Munden (Veterans) 19th, Dave Penny (Sport) 5th, Sean Rayment (Sport) 6th, Lee Broadhurst (Open) 43rd, Lee Nowak (Open) 25th, Kevin Beales (Open) 42nd, Paul Quantrill (Open) 20th, Steve Twell (Open) 18th, Mike Cubit (Open) 64th punctured, Addie Harris (Veterans) punctured but finished 32nd, Jonny Sayer (Open) 27th, Richard Hallett (Open) 45th, Nick Herbert (Open) 65th, Neil Allen (Open) 11th, Rob Smithers (Open) 6th, Luke Rudd (Sport) 8th, Jimmy Upton (Master) 10th, John Carpenter (Grand Vet’s) retired. Junior riders: Joe Allen (U9’s) 10th, Samuel Harris and Harvey Timmings.

Round 1 of the MSG series 2015 has been confirmed for March 1 at the same venue.