Swift West Norfolk swimmers lift Breckland cup

Share this article
Have your say

West Norfolk notched up another notable team victory in the Breckland Cup after a thrilling evening of swimming at Dereham Leisure Centre.

With all the clubs fielding their strongest swimmers across the age groups, West would have to be at their very best. Ryan Sykes was team manager, and had clearly primed his team to produce some great swims, putting WNSC in the top two places right from the start. Everyone gave total commitment.

Individual wins came thick and fast for Chloe Sorrell, Rachel Johnson, Leah Wightman, Tobias Oglesby, Oliver Newton, Alex Hall, Katie Drew, Harry Sharpe, Astrid Hubbard and Ryan Sykes. Robert Addis scored two wins in the 12/under 100m back, and 100m free. Nathan Wells was on song, taking maximum points in the 4x50m I/M, finishing eight seconds ahead of his nearest rival. He also collected wins in the 100m free and 100m back, inspiring many of the younger swimmers in the process.

Roxanne Uys swam a phenomenal 4x50m I/M, displaying great competitive spirit, just being edged out by the Swans swimmer.

Harry Sharpe threw everything he had at the 4x25m I/M, just missing out on first place in a finger tip finish to Swans.

The points were mounting up for West, aided by many second and third places from other swimmers. They then hit a streak of wins to take every one of the five relay races.

The mixed 10/u team of Leah Wightman, Isabel Jeffery, Harvey Isle, and Harry Sharpe set the tone for the relays with an excellent win. Rachel Johnson, Freddie Laws, Alex Hall and Astrid Hubbard followed suit in their relay. Jacob Isle, Molly Lee, Jake Lammas and Rosie Muspratt picked up another win. Hannah Brown, Ryan Sykes, Ollie Newton and Elise Sorrell took first in their relay.

Victory was sealed in the final freestyle relay with a roof raising performance by Katie Drew, Tobias Oglesby, Rachel Johnson, Robert Addis, Becky Read, Jake Lammas, Elise Sorrell and Nathan Wells.

Thanks go to all WNSC officials, Lois Addis and Carole Sorrell as marshalls, and the parents and supporters.

Final result: 1 WNSC 220 points; 2 Norwich Swan 201; 3 Dereham 160; 4 Thetford A 130; 5 North Norfolk Vikings 129; 6 Thetford B 50.