Tight Downham Market Ryston Runners finish in U17 girls Keith Ward memorial 60m title

Tim Smith
Tim Smith
Have your say

Ryston Runners had 24 athletes taking part in the Keith Ward Norfolk County Track and Field Indoor Championships at Lynnsport.

Thea Howlett who, having been sidelined by injury for the whole of 2016, and making her return in a completely new age group, showed that she has taken her rehab and training very seriously by taking the U17G County title in the High Jump with a new PB of 1m 50, despite not having jumped in competition for 13 months.

Then, after an even longer event absence, of three years, Thea claimed the U17G 60m title with an exciting “thickness of the vest” finish.

Other Ryston medals in the 60m sprints went to Hannah Brown (U20 gold), Ian Hogarth (M35 silver), and Liam Clare and David MacQueen (U13B gold and silver). Liam also took gold in the 60m Hurdles, an event which also yielded a gold for Gabrielle Clare (U17G) and a bronze for Naomi Darkins (U20W).

Naomi achieved the highest Pole Vault of any female competitor in the Field section, 2m bringing her gold in the U20 category, while Ian Hogarth took another M35 win with his vault of 2m 40 (also 2nd SM). Ian was also 1st M35 in the High and Long Jumps, competing with the Senior Men, among whom Gareth Hunt took two golds in Long and Triple Jump and finished third in a quality High Jump competition with 1m 75.

Field events also saw some Ryston medallists: Bea Honeybone and Lily Teasdale (U13G Shot, gold and bronze), Ryan Wood (U13B Shot bronze), David MacQueen (U13B LJ bronze), Kyle Berry (U15B HJ silver), Gabrielle Clare (U17G LJ gold), and Holly Chen (U20W Shot and LJ bronze).

Other Ryston competitors, some making their competition debuts, included: Long Jump: U11B 5 Oakley Took, 8 Riley Bell; U13B 4 Liam Clare, 5 Ryan Wood, 6 Kieran Bell, 7 George Evans 8 Malakai Took; U15B 5 Bailey Took, 7 Kyle Berry; U13G 4 Bea Honeybone, 12 Lily May Collison; U15G 7 Nina Koulman, 8 Saffron Teasdale. 60m: U11B 4 Riley Bell; U13B 4 Kieran Bell, 5 Ryan Wood, 6 Thomas Mann (Heat: 4 George Evans); U15B 5 Bailey Took, 6 Kyle Berry (Heat: 6 Oliver Mann); U13G Heat: 4 Bea Honeybone, Lily Teasdale, Lily May Collison; U20W 4 Holly Chen. 60mH: U13B 2 Malakai Took; U13G 4 Lily Teasdale; U15G Heat: 4 Nina Koulman.