Home   Sport   Article

King's Lynn cyclists contest time trial

Only 16 riders turned out for Lynn Cycling Club’s 10-mile time trial at Tottenhill on Wednesday.

Lynn Cycling Club members (1935834)
Lynn Cycling Club members (1935834)

Heavy rain and strong winds earlier in the day threatened to disrupt the race, but they gave way to a sunny evening affording those who did compete the opportunity to score some big points.

So who gained the most?

Bethany Barnett, 14, was the only entrant in the Ladies Time Trial class and her season’s best of 28.15 gave her maximum points, drawing her level with Emma Thompson overall.

Barnett also won the juniors section but remains some way behind the ever-present Tye Rugg, who was runner-up on the night thanks to his time of 29.15, exactly a minute in arrears.

Meanwhile, in the Ladies’ Old School championship, Heather Rugg, ever-present for the season like her son, took the spoils for the second time this year with her 32.19.

She inched further clear of Maria Frary, who broke her sequence of finishing third every week, crossing the line second in 35.37.

The Men’s Time Trial class went according to the form book with Jorge Vieira comfortably taking his third win of the season.

Vieira was the fastest rider overall by well over a minute with his impressive 21.25, and maintains a very consistent level of performance with just 30 seconds covering his four results so far.

Runner-up was James Senter, completing the course in 23.04.

This moved him into third in the championship despite having started the season racing as a 2 Up pair.

Another man switching categories was Simon Light.

Moving across from Men’s Old School and getting on to his time trial bike, he clocked 25.37 to take third ahead of Chris Levy, fourth on the night, with 26.05 and recording his season’s best time by exactly a minute.

There was a five-way scrap for points in the Men’s Old School, where Trevor Marshall took his first win of the season by coming home in 26.56 to edge out reigning champion Simon Hardy.

Forsaking his knobbly-tyred mountain bike, he upped his pace to 27.24 and in so doing regained his lead in the championship and topped the Handicap points on the night.

Behind them came the aforementioned Tye Rugg, Peter Barber (33.14), who narrowly clings to his overall lead in the handicap, and Dave Bethell, whose time of 39.13 was rewarded with his first points of the year.

Full results: Jorge Vieira 21.25, Neil Empson (Anglia Velo) 22.42, Ben Keeley (Velovelocity) 22.53, James Senter 23.04, Simon Light 25.37, Chris Levy 26.05, Trevor Marshall 26.56, Simon Hardy 27.24, Bethany Barnett 28.15, Tye Rugg 29.15, Gary Hignett (Spalding CC) 31.44, Heather Rugg 32.19, Denese Hallahan (Wisbech Wheelers) 33.03, Peter Barber 33.14, Maria Frary 35.37, Dave Bethell 39.13.

Bethany Barnett raced in an under-16 race at Ixworth on Bank Holiday Monday.

Following a touch of mild hypothermia Barnett eventually finished the race to take a very comfortable (if hot) second place.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More