Home   Sport   Article

West Norfolk Athletic Club hosts annual cross-country event

West Norfolk Athletic Club hosted their annual cross country at Houghton Hall on Sunday.

Being part of the newly-formed Athletics Norfolk Team XC League, the event brought out 250 athletes travelling from throughout the county.

It was close racing in all the age groups, with combined course records being broken and Ryston Runners claiming the Top Team Trophy.

Houghton 1 (20937637)
Houghton 1 (20937637)

Nic Bensley, in his last race as an M45, was second master on the day, and at the other extreme of the age range Aidan Howard, in his first event as a Ryston Runner, took second in the under-9 B 800m race.

The club’s only winner on the day was Rosie Booth (under-17 girls), though the winner of the Women’s Masters’ race, Nicky Roger, has a Ryston pedigree.

Archie Rowe was second under-11 boy, and Nina Koulman second under-20 woman.

Bailey Took was third under-17 boy and Rob Simmonds took third spot in the SM race, while Dawn Robinson was just pipped into fourth in an exciting finish to the SW event.

For Renegade Runners, Thomas Elsdon was fourth in the under-9 boys, Luke Anderson was fifth and twins Rory and Leo Wood were sixth and seventh.

In the Under-11s, Lola Kidman was second girl, Henry Gosnell was eighth and Chloe Pratt, position unknown, also ran well.

Cody Pearman continued his great form this year and was fourth in the under-13s.

Houghton 2 (20937671)
Houghton 2 (20937671)

Esmie Kidman ran very well and was third girl and was closely followed by the ever-improving Ruby Smith who was fourth girl.

In the seniors race, Emma Wood had a fabulous run to finish as first lady overall to once again highlight her star quality.

Danny Smith, despite suffering from illness and a hip injury, ran a respectable time.

Ian Kidman also had a solid run and was good to see Hayley Church back running after a long lay off alongside Jimmy Hornigold.

Special thanks goes to the Houghton Hall Estate for their continued support.

Top three category performers at the Houghton Hall event.

Under-9 boys​: 1 Samual Hall​, 2 Aidan Howard​, 3 Jude Parsley​.

Under-9 girls​: 1 Olivia Mukuya (GYDAC)​, 2 Leah Beagles​, 3 Florence Abbott​.

Under-11 boys​: 1 Jude Linstead (CONAC)​, 2 Archie Rowe (RRAC), 3 Bobby Goldsmith​.

Under-11 girls​: 1 Eva Barton (CONAC)​, 2 Lola Kidman (KLTC)​, 3 Amber Goddard (CONAC)​.

Under-13 boys​: 1 Max Parsley (NNHAC), 2 Matthew Benson (NNHAC)​, 3 Billy Eccles (BVH)​.

Under-13 girls​: 1 Allyna Mukuya (GYDAC)​, 2 Billie-Jordan Butler (TA)​, 3 Esma Kidman (KLTC)​.

Under-15 boys​: 1 James Peck (TAC)​, 2 Ben Peck (TAC)​.

Under-15 girls​: 1 Esma Abbott (CONAC)​, 2 Isabella Williams (CONAC), 3 Alice Wallance.​

Under 17 boys​: 1 Daniel Harrison (GYDAC)​, 2 Ryan Harrison (DRAC)​, 3 Bailey Took (RRAC)​.

Under-17 girls​: 1 Rosie Booth (RRAC)​, 2 Arabella Gingall (WNAC).​

Under-20 men​: 1 and overall winner Harry Allcock (BBDRC)​, 2 Cameron Raven (WNTSR).

Under-20 women​: 1 Hannah Stone, 2 Nina Kaulman​.

Senior men​: 1 Callum Simpson (WAC)​, 2 John Hudson (NRR)​, 3 Rob Simmonds (RRAC)​.

Senior women​: 1 Emma Wood​, 2 Georgia Williams (WAC)​, 3 Sophie McLaren (WAC)​.

Veteran men​: 1 Neil Adams (NNBR)​, 2 Nic Bensley (RRAC)​, 3 Chris Merrylees (NNBR)​.

Renegade Rockets (20900954)
Renegade Rockets (20900954)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More