King’s Lynn Stars close in on top four after Leicester home win

An evening with Kings Lynn Speedway rider Niels-Kristian Iversen ANL-150811-221850009
An evening with Kings Lynn Speedway rider Niels-Kristian Iversen ANL-150811-221850009
Have your say

King’s Lynn Stars closed in on the Elite League’s top four with a confidence boosting 54-38 home win over Leicester last night (Thursday).

A third win in four meetings means the Roger Warnes Transport Stars are now just three points behind fourth placed Lakeside - and have three fixtures in hand over the Hammers.

The Stars now head to Leicester on Saturday in search of a second win on the road this week and team manager Rob Lyon admits momentum is well and truly with his side.

“Confidence really is starting to build within the side now and it was another really pleasing performance from the boys tonight,” said Lyon.

“We finished the meeting really strongly and there were plenty of positives to take out of the meeting.

“Picking up a win like we did tonight on the back of Monday’s victory at Coventry means we’re in a bit of form now and we we’re looking for another positive result at Leicester this weekend.”

GP star Niels-Kristian Iversen dropped just one point as he put in another inspiring performance from the No.1 spot.

Aussie ace Troy Batchelor registered his highest tally of the season as he achieved double figures while Robert Lambert recovered from mechanical problems in his first outing to go unbeaten by an opponent from his next four rides.

Lewis Rose continued his impressive run of form while squad member Carl Wilkinson chipped in with a useful contribution after a late call-up to the meeting.

Rory Schlein claimed a heat win on his return to action at the Adrian Flux Arena while Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen rounded off a tough night with a race win of his own in heat 12.

LYNN 54: Niels-Kristian Iversen 14, Troy Batchelor 10, Robert Lambert 9+3, Lewis Rose 8+1, Carl Wilkinson 6+1, Rory Schlein 4+1, Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen 3.

LEICESTER 38: Szymon Wozniak 8+1, Nicolai Klindt 7, Paul Starke 7, Aaron Summers 5+1, Josh Auty 4+2, Patrick Hougaard 4, Ashley Morris 3+2.