Lambert misses King’s Lynn Stars Wolves trip

Speedway news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Speedway news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Have your say

The King’s Lynn Roger Warnes Transport Stars will travel to Wolverhampton tonight (Monday) without two young local riders, including head injury victim Lewis Kerr,

Rob Branford will ride at reserve for the Stars in place of Heacham rider Kerr, who was taken to hospital following a crash in the Premier League Fours championship at Peterborough on Sunday (see front page).

Meanwhile, Norwich-born heat leader Robert Lambert also misses the Midlands trip.

The young Brit is suffering from a shoulder injury and will miss the fixture to allow himself time to recover. Stars boss Rob Lyon has opted for rider replacement at Monmore Green.

Lyon agreed Kerr’s injury is one of the most serious he has had to deal with in more than ten years as a team manager.

He said: “It is certainly one of the most serious.

“We have got to keep our fingers crossed that he makes a full recovery, that’s allk that I can say.

“There’s not a great deal we can discuss at the moment.”

With the new averages coming into effect on August 1, Lyon had switched his side around for the meeting. Lambert was going to move up to heat leader for the first time in his career, while Kenneth Bjerre rides at number 4.

Lambert has continued to improve since the start of the season and that has moved him above Bjerre (6.22) and Vaclav Milik (6.42) in the Stars average list. After starting the year at 5.19, Lambert now holds a 6.55 average.

Wolves have switched their team around with Freddie Lindgren returning back to the number one position with Peter Karlsson riding at number 5.

The hosts have been forced into a change with Max Clegg coming in for Josh Bates, who crashed while racing for Sheffield at Workington on Saturday.

The Stars picked up a well deserved away point at Coventry on Friday.

Wolves: 1 Fredrik Lindgren, 2 Jacob Thorssell, 3 Ricky Wells, 4 Tobiasz Musielak, 5 Peter Karlsson, 6 Lewis Blackbird, 7 Max Clegg (G).

Stars: 1 Niels-K Iversen, 2 Nicklas Porsing, 3 Robert Lambert R/R, 4 Kenneth Bjerre, 5 Vaclav Milik, 6 Rob Branford (G), 7 Ashley Morris.