Milik debuts in King’s Lynn Stars’ emphatic win over Lakeside

Speedway news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Speedway news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Have your say

A full 15 point maximum from Niels-Kristian Iversen helped the King’s Lynn Roger Warnes Transport Stars to an emphatic 63-29 win over Lakeside at the Adrian Flux Arena on Thursday night.

Lynn bounced back from their defeat to the Hammers last week with a dominant display which was started with three consecutive 5-1 advantages in the opening four races. Wins from Iversen, Lewis Kerr and Kenneth Bjerre gave the Stars a comfortable lead early on.

Lakeside’s Richard Lawson attempted to claw back points in heat five whilst on a tactical ride, but a fast starting Nicklas Porsing out-gated the Hammers no.4 to take the race win. With the tactical ride out the way, the Stars continued to dominate the meeting and edged further ahead with a race win in heat 7 from Iversen and new signing Vaclav Milik.

The second half of the meeting went the way of the Stars with five of the last six heats resulting in a heat advantage. Heat 10 was one to remember with Milik picking up his first race win in the Lynn race suit, but his battle with Andreas Jonsson will go down as one of the best heats this season.

Stars captain Iversen completed his maximum with a hard fought victory over Jonsson in the last race to seal a 34 point victory and 3 league points for the Stars.

Lynn chief Buster Chapman said after the meeting: “It was a good all-round team performance. Each of our riders gave maximum effort tonight and that showed on the track, I want to see that next week when Poole come here.

“New signing Vaclav Milik was very impressive tonight, he gated well and was unlucky not to score a maximum. I am very pleased with him.”

Stars: Niels-Kristian Iversen 15, Vaclav Milik 10+3, Lewis Kerr 9, Nicklas Porsing 8+1, Kenneth Bjerre 8+1, Robert Lambert 7+1, Ashley Morris 6+2

Hammers: Andreas Jonsson 8+2, Mikkel Bech 7+1, Edward Kennett 6, Richard Lawson 3, Adam Ellis 3, Carl Wilkinson 2, Kim Nilsson r/r.