Stars announce 2015 team

King's Lynn Stars unviel their lead line up for the new season. ANL-141012-085645009
King's Lynn Stars unviel their lead line up for the new season. ANL-141012-085645009
Have your say

The 2015 King’s Lynn Stars speedway team will have a familiar feel next season as six of the riders who reached the Elite League Play-offs return.

It comes as little surprise that the club’s management have decided retain the vast majority of last season’s team after they performed so well.

A top of the table finish with a record-breaking run in the build-up will no doubt give the riders a head start when the 2015 Elite League comes around.

Of course it is a special year for Buster Chapman and his men as they celebrate 50 years at the Saddlebow Road track.

Danish duo Niels-Kristian Iversen and Kenneth Bjerre will once again spearhead the familiar faces in the Norfolk side. Bjerre has signed up for his third year at the Norfolk Arena while Iversen returns for a fifth consecutive season and he says that his return was never in doubt.

The Stars number one said: “I am delighted to be back racing at King’s Lynn next season. I never really had any doubts about coming back.

“I feel at home with this club and I can’t wait to get going again. Buster and Rob (Lyon, team boss) have put together a good team and hopefully we can make up for what slipped away in 2014 season.”

Captain Rory Schlein, who will be celebrating his testimonial on March 15 next year, had set his sights at returning to the Stars in 2015. Schlein said: “I am looking forward to coming back to King’s Lynn. It is a great club and I really like the track.”

Making up the main body of the 2015 team is the ever-improving Dane Nicklas Porsing and local talent Robert Lambert. Porsing showed at the end of last season that he is capable of beating any rider in the Elite League, as did Lambert.

There is only one change for Lynn and that comes at reserve. Lewis Kerr had a sensational debut Elite League season and the management felt that he had to be kept in the Elite Draft.

As each team could only protect one rider, Lynn decided to keep Kerr and let Lewis Rose leave the club on a temporary basis. The second position at reserve is yet to be filled after Joe Jacobs decided to quit the sport.