Home   Sport   Article

King's Lynn suffer back-to-back Premiership defeats as Sheffield triumph at Adrian Flux Arena

More news, no ads


King's Lynn Stars faced the Musielak in a close 41-49 Premiership home defeat to Sheffield tonight as the sides clashed for the first time this season.

Dynamic Pole Tobiasz Musielak (13 points), skipper Kyle Howarth (12+1) and company proved why Sheffield were among many peoples' pre-season Premiership speedway title favourites and the Tigers grabbed four league points.

Musielak grabbed the 'Big Moment' by turning a Heat 12 potential Lynn 5-1 into a 3-3 with Lynn looking good to get a positive match result.

Josh Pickering on the gas. (57237490)
Josh Pickering on the gas. (57237490)

Lynn began again after a tough fortnight due to losing Niels-Kristian Iversen in a Polish recall and having to replace reserve Jack Thomas.

Jason Edwards made his Premiership and Lynn debuts as an injury replacement for Rising Star Thomas who crashed in Lynn's previous outing versus Ipswich, while Dane Thomas Jorgensen returned after injury.

Sheffield number one Jack Holder fell on the very second bend behind Dersingham's Lewis Kerr and was excluded while team-mate Craig Cook was warned to stay still at the start. Holder and Kerr reportedly had a few words in the pits.

The drama wasn't over as former Minors & Brady Stars rider Cook clipped the bend one fence in the three-man re-run. The Cumbrian needed five minutes' treatment and picked up a suspected arm injury.

The re-re-run after 15 minutes saw Cook fail to appear and was disqualified, to be replaced by reserve Jake Allen, who quite predictably trailed No. 1 Richard Lawson and Kerr for a home 5-1 maximum.

In-form Richie Worrall won the reserves' race with Edwards picking up a useful third in a 4-2 home result.

Next the Tigers managed their first 2-4 heat advantage when Howarth edged out Nick Morris – guesting for Iversen – while the rusty Jorgensen brought up the rear behind Musielak.

The Tigers clawed back two more points when British champion Adam Ellis defeated home captain Josh Pickering and 2021 Stars rider Connor Mountain swapped positions with Edwards.

Cook recovered to make Heat 5 but retired on the opening lap and shortly withdrew from the meeting with a left arm injury. Winner Jorgensen and third-place Morris earned a 4-2.

The next race was shared, the first 3-3 as Ellis headed Lawson and Kerr.

Musielak beat Pickering to win Heat 7 and Howarth was third to close the gap to two points again, 22-20.

Howarth immediately became Cook's injury rider replacement (i/r/r) and edged a tapes-to-flag victory over Kerr, with Mountain beating Edwards to level the scores at the midway mark.

Morris won the next, Ellis second and Jorgensen third in a 4-2, but Musielak and Howarth earned a first away maximum to also lead for the first time after Heat 10.

Worrall triumphed over Holder and i/r/r Mountain but Pickering was struggling with his machinery and retired on the final lap to make the interval scores 32-34.

Worrall came in on a reserve switch for Edwards. Allen fell in an unsatisfactory start, then Worrall was warned on the restart.

Allen fell again, and at the fourth attempt Lynn held a 5-1 but Musielak brilliantly overtook both Worrall, and then at the start of the final lap, Morris to bag a vital 3-3.

Pickering somehow kept Lynn in the meeting by surprising Holder (and everyone in the stadium) by creeping up the inside at the death to rescue a Heat 13 3-3.

Worrall held a penultimate outing lead but Howarth passed him at the start of lap three for a 2-4 which meant Lynn needed a final race 5-1 just to force a super heat decider.

But Musielak and Holder earned a 1-5 over Pickering and Lawson to make it academic.

King's Lynn Stars: Richard Lawson 6, Lewis Kerr 5+2, Nick Morris (guest from Wolves) 8, Thomas Jorgensen 4, Josh Pickering (capt) 8, Richie Worrall 9+1, Jason Edwards 1.

Sheffield: Jack Holder 8+1, Craig Cook 0 (withdrew), Tobiasz Musielak 13, Kyle Howarth (capt) 12+1, Adam Ellis 9+1, Jake Allen 3, Connor Mountain 4+1.

Fastest time: Ellis, Heat 4, 58.69 seconds.

Referee: Mick Bates.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More