Home   Whats On   Article

King's Lynn stages triumphant final NSO concert of season

More news, no ads


It’s great being able to attend Norfolk Symphony Orchestra concerts regularly again after lockdowns have disrupted past seasons, but amazingly their current season came to an end successfully without interruption recently with a programme at St Nicholas’ Chapel, Lynn, in tune with the enthusiastic audience’s mood.

High drama was prevalent in Beethoven’s Coriolan Overture, a peaceful, English pastoral atmosphere prevailed in Eric Coates By the Sleepy Lagoon and Vaughan William’s famous, and much loved piece, The Lark Ascending humour in Haydn’s 101st Symphony named The Clock, and passion and excitement in Rossini’s Barber of Seville overture.

Steve Bingham and the Norfolk Symphony Orchestra (57567930)
Steve Bingham and the Norfolk Symphony Orchestra (57567930)

Miroslav Skoryk was a popular Ukrainian composer and his short, but lovely work, entitled simply Melody was composed for the 1982 war film: High Pass and has become widely performed in Ukraine on radio and TV. It is frequently described as the spiritual hymn of Ukraine and was performed with appropriate gravitas by the Orchestra.

The audience especially enjoyed a delightful rendering of By the Sleepy Lagoon, made famous by becoming the signature tune to Radio 4’s ‘Desert Island Discs’ programme, and the orchestra’s leader Brigitte Mallon gave an outstanding performance as soloist in ‘The Lark Ascending’, an assured, beautiful reading of the piece that will be long remembered by those attendees of the concert, I’m sure.

Vaughan Williams had connections with Lynn, of course, but, as I left the concert it was the humorous ticking of Haydn’s clock, (featured in the second movement of his symphony 101),that was running through my head, not a bad way to leave the chapel, but seriously, thanks NSO, soloist, Brigitte Mallon and conductor Steve Bingham for another memorable concert. Here’s to the new season in the autumn!

Andy Tyler

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More