Home   Whats On   Article

King’s Lynn Festival: Wihan Quartet, Guildhall, Arts Centre

Wihan Quartet
Wihan Quartet

REVIEW: Wihan Quartet, Guildhall, Lynn

The Ruth Fermoy Memorial Concert at the King’s Lynn Festival featured this talented Czech string quartet on Thursday.

Wihan Quartet
Wihan Quartet

Violinists Leos Cipicky and Jan Schulmeister, viola player Jakub Cepicky and ‘newbie’ cellist Matej Stepanek performed Haydn’s Quartet No1 in G Op.54, the quickfire Beethoven Quartet No11 in F-minor Op. 95 in the first half and after the interval played a short Schubert piece Quartettsatz in C-minor D.703 before finishing on a composer from their homeland, Dvorak, with his Quartet No12 in F Op.96 American.

This had definite echoes of Dvorak’s most famous piece, his New World Symphony, and was written at about the same time when he was working in New York .

It was an enthralling evening for those that had braved the rain to make it to the arts centre.

Faultless in its interpretation and at times, such as in the Beethoven, quite driven in its delivery this well deserved the warm applause that prompted an encore at the end.

The Wihan Quartet has been performing chamber music for more than 30 years and despite one or two changes of personnel in recent years, seem sure to continue to please concert audiences worldwide for many years to come.

Mark Leslie


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More